Institute of Engineering Thermophysics

The institute of engineering thermophysics was established in 1999 on the basis of the specialty of engineering thermophysics originally founded in 1958. The initial aim of founding the engineering thermophysics specialty was to conduct researches on atomic energy reactors and rocket engines.
In early 1960s, the research work was mainly focused on aeroengines, including fundamental theory and applications. In the middle of 1960s, the research gradually changed from military to civil areas. Research work on metallurgical pyrology and thermal plasma was then started.
In the late 1970s, the engineering thermophysics specialty restored some of its original research areas. Now heat transfer and combustion are the two main research fields. The research work mainly involves thermomass theory and its application, micro/nano-scales fluid flow and heat transfer, methods and techniques for measuring the thermophysical properties of nanomaterials, high-efficiency distributed renewable energy systems, data center cooling technologies and the study of combustion theory, which relate to the engineering of thermal energy, atomic energy, environment, petroleum and chemistry, aerospace, electronics, architecture, and so on.
The engineering thermophysics specialty was allowed to award doctor and master degrees in 1981. It was evaluated and selected as the national key discipline in 1987. The postdoctoral ambulatory station was founded in 1988. The doctor and master degrees were allowed to award in the discipline of power engineering and engineering thermophysics in 1998.
The institute of engineering thermophysics focuses research work on theory and applications of thermal science and technology. The two main directions are heat transfer and combustion.
Many research awards have been obtained since 1987. The institute has won twelve national awards ( four national natural science award: one second class awards, two third class awards and one fourth class award; four national invention award: one second class award, two third class awards, and one fourth class award; four national science and technology progress award: two second class awards and one third class award. national spark award: one fourth award), over 40 province and ministry awards, and 30 national invention patents and practical new-style patents. Twenty two books written or translated by the professors in the institute have been published. Two books won the national first-class awards of scientific books.